MACERICH, ALL ACCESS APP

One App to Live, Work, Shop, & Dine for One-of-a-Kind Mixed Use Properties

 
Tysons-Evening-V3_11.1.17.jpg

ROLE

UX/UI

Tools

Photoshop, Illustrator, Omnigraffle

Deliverables

Wireframes, UI Comps, Decks

Sector

Commercial Real Estate, Retail

 

Macerich is an S&P 500 company specializing in the development and operation of upscale mixed-use destinations.

My team at Phunware was asked to create an app (Android & iOS) to enhance the overall experience for their retail, residential, and office customers. Our test site was Macerich’s new complex at Tyson Corner, VA.

 
Challenge AA@2x.png
Outcome AA@2x.png
 

PROCESS HIGHLIGHTS

Browsing for Trends, Dining on Data

  • The client enabled detailed virtual tours or their property

  • Our team conducted extensive interviews with staff for each use case

  • We learned about the Kipsu API and how we could tailor the conceirge to Tysons' guests

 
 
App Map@2x.png
 
 

Designer is a noun and an adjective

Working closely with the client, another designer and dev manager, we applied our insights from each meeting to ensure every feature and touchpoint offered a seamless experience.

My contributions included:

  • Multiple approval rounds of wireframes of all the flows discussed in great detail with the client in meetings and via Basecamp

 
Meal Delivery@2x.png
Text@2x.png
  • Progressive iterations of UI Comps and Visual design that included the existing branding

 

 
 
 
 
Perks@2x.png
 
 
 
Icons@2x.png
 
 

Finding the right fit

User testing was facilitated by the client and its feedback offered valuable insights to perfect the product. Our biggest area of adjustment involved improving the the Kipsu chat feature’s functionality.

Testimonials from user testing:

“We work long hours, so we often just don't have time to run over and get lunch. That’s why meal delivery is so awesome and helpful.”

- Office worker

 
Offers Android@2x.png
Offers iOS@2x.png
 

“It's really convenient to see the All Access discount information in one place. And it's nice to be able to pull up all of the stores where you can use your All Access card.”

- Resident

 
Screen Shot 2018-04-09 at 11.00.02 PM.png
 

“The app was user friendly, easy to follow, and navigate. It told you exactly what to do, what was what, even the icons were labeled very clearly.”

- Retail Customer

 

See Other Case Studies